Site Administration: Drupal Nodes

Remove a Page or Node

There are two ways to remove a page from view. You can either unpublish a page or node so that it is archived for future use, or delete a page or node for permanent removal.


IMPORTANT!

Always disable items first! Only delete when you are certain you want to delete.


Unpublish (disable) a Page or Node

Unpublished pages or nodes are not deleted. They are just not available for public view. This means you can temporarily remove pages or nodes without the need to delete and then enable them if you'd like to add them back.

To unpublish a Page or Node:

  1. In the Administration Menu across the top of your screen, select Content Management → Content → List. The page now shows a list of all your site content. Next to each page or node, there is a checkbox under the Title heading
  2. Click the checkbox next to the page or node you wish to unpublish. Directly above your site content is an Update options drop-down menu.
  3. From the drop-down menu, choose Unpublish.
  4. Click the Update button to save your changes. This will temporarily disable your page or node.

Publish or Unpublish a Page

Delete a Page or Node

To delete a Page or Node:

  1. In the Administration Menu across the top of your screen, select Content Management → Content → List.
  2. The page now shows a list of all your site content. Next to each page or node, there is a checkbox under the Title heading.
  3. Click the checkbox next to the page or node you wish to unpublish.
  4. Directly above your site content is an Update options drop-down menu.
  5. From the drop-down menu, choose Delete.
  6. Click the Update button.
  7. When requested to confirm deletion, click the Delete button again.
  8. The page or node has now been deleted.
  9. Verify that the page has been removed from the website.

IMPORTANT!

This action will permanently delete the Page or Node. You cannot recover deleted work.


Change the Site Design (Default Theme)

  1. In the Administration Menu across the top of your screen, select Site Building → Themes → List.
  2. The page now displays a list of all available themes with thumbnails.

    There are six columns labeled: Screenshot, Name, Version, Enabled, Default, and Operations.

  3. In the Enabled column:
    1. Uncheck the check box for your current theme.
    2. Check the check box for the new theme you want to use.
  4. In the Default column:
    1. Click the radio button to select the new theme as your default theme.
  5. Scroll to the bottom of the page.
  6. Click the Save Configuration button to save your changes.

Note: Depending on your theme configuration, some elements such as certain blocks may not be enabled and your menu areas may differ from the new theme. This is usually rectified by ordering site blocks to either your liking or that of the new theme. Please see Section 8, Working with Blocks.